Awards, Beauty, feminism, Music, Positivity, Thoughts

Post a Quote a Day Challenge Day #2

Take your make-up off/ Let your hair down/ Take a breath/ Look into the mirror, at yourself/ Don’t you like you?/ ‘Cause I like you

Do you guys remember when Colbie Calliat’s music video for ‘Try’ came out? I do, very clearly. I remember reading an article on Buzzfeed about it and a gif set from the video almost bringing me to tears! When I saw the full music video, though, I really started crying. At the time I didn’t know why I had gotten so emotional, but now when I look back on it I think that it was something to do with the fact that subconsciously I could strongly relate to the message of the song. I, like most girls, have felt this pressure growing up to adhere to society’s idea of ‘beautiful’. When I noticed that the boys in my year weren’t looking at me and the only person who called me pretty was my mum, I began to think that there was something wrong with me. I didn’t really have a problem with how I looked, but because other people didn’t approve of me I felt like I wasn’t good enough.

Of course, this idea I had was absolutely ridiculous! The only person I should have ever aimed to impress was myself, and that is why I love this quote so much. In this video Colbie isn’t saying that there’s anything wrong with wearing makeup, but rather you shouldn’t be wearing it as a mask to impress others. At the end of the day, although wearing makeup is really nice, you should be able to take a makeup wipe to your face, look in the mirror and think ‘hey, I am beautiful!’. It took me a while to get to that point, and it was difficult. Even now I have my ‘off’ days, but this song serves as a reminder to me that, even when I don’t feel like it’s possible, I am beautiful and I don’t need to try to be anything to impress anyone. Needless to say, I think that this video should be required viewing for all women!

Here it is. Get the tissues ready.

Ok, that’s all from me!

Today I nominate Dark Charm to take on this challenge 😛

I hope you guys are having an amazing day

Lots of love

-Daisy 🙂

Standard

12 thoughts on “Post a Quote a Day Challenge Day #2

Leave a Reply

