Fashion, nerdy

OOTD: Newmar and Nighties

IMG_5780

Hello everyone!

Now, I will admit straight out of the gate that I am not a major Batman fan. I don’t read Batman comics, haven’t seen any of the movies (except for ‘Batman and Robin’, but I’m not sure if that example’s entirely COOL *insert Arnold Schwarznegger laughing*) and I’ve only seen a fraction of the 1966 TV series.

However, all of this being said, I simply adore Catwoman.

To me, Catwoman is just the original badass female. She’s smart, cunning and knows how to rock a mean catsuit; and in my opinion nobody rocked that catsuit better than the legendary Julie Newmar!

That was why I absolutely fell in love with this Mitch Dowd nightie when I saw it on a clearance rack in Myer. All of the pictures on it perfectly capture the essence of Julie Newmar’s Catwoman: quirky, sexy and incredibly cool (*insert Arnold Schwarznegger laughing a second time*). I had to have it, and at $29.99 it was an absolute steal!

IMG_5788

Now, initially I was intending to don this as sleepwear only. However, after taking it home and realising just how cool it is, I knew that I couldn’t confine this awesome piece to my house! Fellow badass female Charli XCX has made it clear that she loves wearing her nightwear during the day, and fierce fashionista Chriselle Lim made this video a while back encouraging her viewers to take the plunge and try wearing a slip dress out in public. I was feeling daring, so I decided to put together this outfit!

IMG_5786

The nightie is from Mitch Dowd and the jacket is thrifted.

Now, as far as accessories go I couldn’t look past my next favourite feline-themed villain for inspiration! Since the black, fringed jacket is already quite reminiscent of Black Cat’s most recent outfit, I decided to add in this choker from Lovisa, which reminds me a lot of a piece from one of her older outfits. Plus, I’m an absolute sucker for knee-high socks, so I added a pair and some cute black high heels! For hair and makeup I pulled my hair back into a high ponytail and added an oversized black bow at the base for some cuteness (the bow is also from Lovisa).

IMG_5802

And to finish, no Catwoman-inspired look is complete without some fierce cat-eye flicks!

So there you have it; my first OOTD! Have you ever tried pulling off nightwear as daywear? If so, tell me how you did it in the comments! We need more comfortably classy outfits in the world! 😛

Anyways, I hope you guys are having an amazing day

Lots of love

-Daisy 🙂

Inspiration…

All pictures that aren’t my own are from giphy or Google images 😛

Standard

2 thoughts on “OOTD: Newmar and Nighties

    • Thank you so much, Lois! You always leave the nicest comments 🙂 As far as fashion goes, I’ll probably be raiding the sleepwear section a lot more frequently now 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

