Positivity

The Beauty of Having Goals

Now, I don’t think it would be unreasonable to say that at times I’m not the most driven person in the world. Heck, this statement probably applies to me on most days of the week! What I have found is that whenever I am asked to do something, whether it be big or small, I will almost always put it off. That is, of course, unless there is a deadline; in that case I will put it off until it is absolutely necessary (at times this has been the day that an assignment’s due!). Pair this with feeling uninspired and you have a recipe for disaster. Example: before the beginning of my most recent semester of university I put off buying my books for so long that I created a little bit of a problem for myself. I ended up attending my first tutorials with none of the required texts, forcing me to order them online and wait five weeks before they finally showed up. By that point, there was almost no stopping the snowball-like decline of my study motivation. Without the books I didn’t do the readings, and without the readings I was behind in my classes, and once I was behind I felt so out of it that I couldn’t be bothered fully catching up. It was an absolute catastrophe; a far cry from my hard-studying days of high school!

Therefore, as you can imagine, the mid-year break is something of a nightmare for me. Why? Because I have around two months where absolutely nothing is expected of me and I am free to do whatever I want.

In other words: NO GOALS!

At least during the semester I would be forced to snap out of my laziness for assignments! Over the two very short years I’ve been in university, I’ve noticed myself fall into something of a pattern every time the dreaded break rolls around. It will usually start with me saying to myself that this will be great. Now that the break is here, I’ll be able to do all of the things that I wanted to do during the term. I can make that dress and go to the movies and conquer the world because I am amazing and this break is mine!!

Long story short: the majority of my breaks have been spent with me in my pyjamas listening to Survivor Podcasts and playing The Sims.

However, although I didn’t have a problem with it at the time, at the end of the breaks I was always overcome with a feeling of waste. I had so much time, but I wasn’t doing anything that really mattered. I was distracting myself with short-term satisfaction as opposed to going out and having experiences that would be so much more meaningful.

So, at the end of this university semester, I had a little bit of an epiphany. I’m not sure exactly what caused this change in me, but suddenly I decided that, for the first time in forever, I would make the most of my time. I would no longer spend my days wasting time when I could be out there doing amazing, awesome things! What about all of those books I’d been meaning to read? The movies I’d wanted to see? The projects I’d wanted to do?

But I couldn’t stop there! As I said before, almost all of my holidays had started out with good intentions. This time around I needed to make sure I did all of the things I wanted to achieve; I had to do something more! So, instead of falling back into my old ways, I decided that I would keep myself to my aspirations by creating a holiday goals list. Taking a bunch of crayons and A4 paper, I began scribbling down everything that would be in my ideal holiday. It started out with small things at first (like ‘bake a cake’ or ‘finish that book!’), but as I got increasingly inspired it started piling up to things that were more interesting and challenging (like ‘write a script’ and ‘volunteer’). Soon enough my list had expanded to three pages, the bright colours of the crayons glaring up happily at me. As I stared at my work, I couldn’t feel more excited. It felt like I was actually giving myself the motivation I needed to go out and do awesome things! As I learned with starting my blog, sometimes all we need is a little push 😛

So now the goals lists are displayed proudly on my bedroom wall, allowing me to see it every morning when I wake up and every night when I fall asleep. When I feel inspired I’ll add to it, and every now and then I’ll look over it and check something off. Even if it’s something small, I end up feeling so happy with myself. If you feel like you need a little bit of a push, I highly recommend you try this too! It doesn’t have to be for the holidays like me; it could be for the weekend, the month or even the entire year! Get out your most colourful pens, pencils or crayons and create a list of goals. It doesn’t matter if they’re big or small, just as long as they are things that you know will make you happy in the long run. Write them all up in fancy letters, give it a pretty border and hang it up for everyone to see. There really is no time like the present to start doing the things you’ll thank yourself for in the future.

So now every morning, instead of waking up and wandering in a half-daze over to my computer, I feel like I’m beginning a new adventure. As I get out of bed, I take a moment to look over that colourful list and ask myself one question:

‘What do I feel like achieving today?’

Thank you so much for reading!

Lots of love

-Daisy 🙂

Image Credit here

Standard

Leave a Reply

