Dancing, feminism, Music

My Favourite ‘Girl Power’ Anthems

Hello Hello Hello!

Now, you all know that I love dancing (even though I am absolutely terrible at it!). Dancing just has this amazing power to make you feel great, no matter what kind of mood you’re in. However, what I’ve found is that when I’m dancing and singing along to a song that has a positive, empowering message, my mood is uplifted almost instantly! I believe if you give a woman the right playlist, she can feel ready to take on the world. So, I thought it would be only fitting for today’s post to be about some of my favourite girl-power anthems! All of these songs reinforce positive ideas about what it means to be a female, touching on themes like empowerment, self-confidence and friendship. Hopefully you’ll love them as much as I do!

‘Reflection’ – Fifth Harmony

Gosh, where do I begin with Fifth Harmony? I could have picked so many of their songs for this list (‘Bo$$’‘Worth It’‘Miss Moving On’… the decision was so difficult!), however I couldn’t go past this amazing self-love anthem. Starting out like an ordinary love song, this track is flipped on its head when the girls tell us that they aren’t talking up a guy, but are instead complimenting their own reflection (major win)! The girls also make it clear that they don’t try to make themselves look nice for this guy either, but instead dress up because it makes them feel happy (YES)! Basically, this is the perfect song to get ready to; it’s so catchy that you’ll be singing it to yourself for the rest of the day!

Favourite lyrics: ‘Ooh/ they don’t make ‘em quite like you/ Ooh/ it ain’t braggin’ if you know it’s true’

‘Flawless Remix’ – Beyonce and Nicki Minaj

Now, I’ll be honest: I haven’t been the biggest fan of Nicki Minaj or Beyonce in the past. (Shocking, I know!) I mean, I’ve always thought that they were alright, but I never fully got into their music. That is, until now! As the proud owner of Beyonce’s most recent album, I can vouch for how perfect the original version of ‘***Flawless’ is. However, when you add another amazingly talented, strong woman to the mix you know that the result is going to be double the brilliance! In this version, Nicki and Bey rap/sing about their own personal achievements and generally how much they’re killing it right now. Basically, this song makes me feel as badass as these fierce ladies, which is always a good thing! (Note: this song does have swearing in it, but I’m pretty sure you already knew that! :P)

Favourite lyric: ‘I score before I ever throw the ball’

‘Salute’ – Little Mix

I have always loved Little Mix, and this song is just brilliant. Calling up all of the ladies of the world to stand strong together rather than see each other as competitors; what’s not to love? Plus, the music video has a killer dance routine! All-around, this is an excellent girl-power song in my books 😛

Favourite lyrics: ‘If you think we’re just pretty things/ you couldn’t be more wrong’

‘Doing It’ – Charli XCX and Rita Ora

Whenever I listen to this, I just think of a group of a group of girls going out on the town and having a good time! This song is just so much fun, with everything from the catchy chorus to the awesome lyrics making it a stellar track for jamming out to with your friends. This song is an awesome celebration of female friendship and good times; an absolute A+ from me! (Note: The music video does feature a creepy old man in speedos and some scantily clad police officers. Viewer discretion is advised! :P)

Favourite lyrics: ‘friends like a team in a circle/ we’re together we’re so alive/ joy like a jewel let it sparkle/ know that I’ve got your back for life’

‘Just a Girl’ – No Doubt

This is one of the best feminist songs of all time, no questions asked. Gwen Stefani is just the most perfect, badass front-woman. She always put so much energy into all of her performances with No Doubt, and this was no exception! Written after her father was upset with her driving at night, this song is a brilliant take-down of sexism and gender roles. The video is absolutely awesome too! (Breaking the gender barriers to party together as equals: so much yes!) Basically, anybody who doesn’t understand feminism needs to watch this video immediately.

Favourite lyrics: ‘I’m just a girl, all pretty and petite/ so don’t let me have any rights/ oh and I’ve had it up to here’

‘Wannabe’ – Spice Girls

How could I make a post about girl power anthems without including the band that put ‘Girl Power’ on the map?! This song is an absolute classic, and for good reason too! As these girls sing, they don’t need a man to get by, and instead choose to value friendship and self-improvement (YES!). And, if a man does come along, he needs to get the approval of their friends (which is super important!). You go, Spice Girls!

Favourite lyrics: ‘say you can handle my love, are you for real?/ I won’t be hasty, I’ll give you a try/ if you really bug me then I’ll say goodbye’

Alrighty, there you have it! Those are some of my favourite ‘girl power’ anthems. Be sure to let me know in the comments if I’m missing out on anything! I always love getting song recommendations 🙂

Thank you for reading and I hope you have an amazing day!

Lots of love

-Daisy 🙂

Image credit here

Standard

5 thoughts on “My Favourite ‘Girl Power’ Anthems

    • Awww thank you so much! I’m so glad you enjoyed my picks. It’s so important to have empowering music to listen to, it really can do wonders for your confidence! I hope you have an amazing day too! XD

      Like

      • Not a problem at all beautiful!! And yeah I definitely did!

        Absolutely!! What we listen to has a serious impact on our mindsets a lot of the time,so having powerful messages of empowerment taken in is so impacting in the best way it’s awesome!

        And yeah for sure!

        Thankyou so much lovely!!! xoxox

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

