Beauty, DIY

Crayon Lipsticks That Actually Work?!

IMG_5741

Hello everyone!

OK, I’m guessing that quite a number of you have tried the crayon lipstick. If your experience was anything like mine it probably went something like this: you were browsing through Pinterest one day when you spotted a pin that almost looked too good to be true. Lipsticks in any shade you like, all with the help of crayons and a little bit of coconut oil! What could possibly go wrong? Well, a dozen broken crayons and splashes of coconut oil later, I realised the answer to that question! For me, the result of my hard work was nothing short of disappointing; a goopy, slippery pseudo-lipgloss that smudged off almost as soon as I put it on! It definitely wasn’t what I was expecting, especially considering how good it looked in the photos.

However, I am incredibly pleased to tell you there is still hope!

The other day I was sadly reflecting on my past failures with the crayon lipstick when an idea struck me that seemed so obvious, I didn’t know why I hadn’t thought of it before.

 Why not use lip balms as a base?!

(Now, I will admit, I have read about using this method somewhere before, so my concept isn’t entirely original. However, I am being 100% genuine when I say that I have absolutely no idea where this was! I have a feeling I saw it on Pinterest a while ago, but after some very thorough searching I haven’t been able to find it! If I do, I’ll make sure to link it here. Although the idea isn’t my own, the recipe is.)

So, excitedly grabbing the box of crayons left over from my recent failure and an old Lip Smacker, I rushed over to the stove and started concocting the lipstick that would be the key to my redemption. I have to say, the results are simply brilliant! The colour is pretty opaque, lasts for ages and feels super moisturising. Also, you can make them in just about any flavour you like, which I think is a massive plus! Since I made up the recipe as I went along, I had to do a few more attempts to get the consistency just right. It’s this perfected recipe that I’m presenting to you today! So here’s my new and improved method of making crayon lipstick! Hopefully your results will be just as awesome as mine 🙂

IMG_5714

So, for this DIY you will need:

  • 1 big saucepan to fill with water
  • 1 heatproof dish/measuring jug (I used a measuring jug, just to make the transition into the lip balm container a bit easier!)
  • 1 funnel (If you choose to use a dish rather than a measuring jug)
  • Crayola crayons (Note: they must be Crayola! Crayola crayons are completely nontoxic, therefore they are 100% safe to go putting on your face! Also, although they are in the picture do not (I repeat DO NOT) use the Crayola twistables for this DIY! What I discovered is that they don’t melt, get all goopy and shed this really strange waxy residue all throughout the mixture. Not something you’d want to go putting on your lips)
  • Lip Smackers (or any other lip balm you think could use a little pizzazz)
  • Something to mix with (I chose a kebab stick)

So, let’s get started!

Step 1: Since you’re playing lipstick designer, pick out your lip balm and match it up with the crayon colour that you want it to be. Don’t be worried if your lip balm has a slight tint to it; the crayon’s colour will take over entirely as soon as you melt the two together! Also, feel free to mix up different crayons to create your own unique colours. There are no rules when it comes to designing your own crayon lipstick! I decided to pair off my Chupa Chups lipsmacker in vanilla (that’s right, Chupa Chups makes lip balms now! Who would have thought :P) with a Crayola crayon in scarlet.

Step 2: Peel the wrapper off the crayon and cut it to the right length. Now, as you can see I didn’t really go about this in the neatest way possible! If you want to avoid making a mess like me, I’ve heard that placing them in warm water for a few minutes makes the wrappers easier to peel off. Also, if peeling’s not your thing, you can always use an X-ACTO knife to slice the wrappers off in one piece! You do you, my friends, you do you 😛

IMG_5721

Now, as for the amount of crayon you’ll need to use, I found for a regular Lip Smacker (approx 4.0 grams of product) the ideal amount to use is around 6 cm (around 2.5 inches). I ended up using a whole crayon on my first attempt and the end result was really hard! Don’t get me wrong; it was still useable, just a little difficult to apply 😛 Now, if you’re using a mixture of different colours, make sure the total amount of little crayon parts stays around 6 cm. What I like to do when mixing up colours is line up the sections that I’m using against a ruler to make sure everything’s correct!

IMG_5723

Step 3: Add water to your pot and put it on your stove at a low/medium heat. We want the water to be warm, but not boiling!

IMG_5717

Step 4: Place the heatproof dish/measuring jug in the centre of the pot.

IMG_5719

Step 5: Twist out your lip balm to its full length, cut it from its base and place it in the heatproof dish/measuring jug. Stir it with your kebab stick until it is completely melted. (Also, as you can see my water did end up boiling which wasn’t good! Bubbles make everything super difficult, trust me!)

IMG_5724 IMG_5725 IMG_5728 IMG_5729

Step 6: Add your crayon(s) to the mix and stir away! (Some people like to break up the crayon into little bits for this step so it melts faster, but I just plonked the whole thing in there and it worked fine. Whatever floats your boat!)

IMG_5730 IMG_5731

Step 7: Once your crayons have completely melted, pick up your heatproof dish safely and put it on your bench. I like to get a paper towel and wrap it around my measuring jug’s handle, but you can also use oven mitts or a tea towel. We don’t want any burned fingers!

Step 8: Twist your lip balm back down as far as it will go (if it isn’t twisting at first, just push down on it to get the downward momentum started!) and slowly pour the mixture into your lip balm container. This is where a funnel will come in handy if you aren’t already using a measuring jug!

IMG_5737 IMG_5738

Step 9: Once you’re done pouring the mixture into your container, leave it to cool until it’s completely set (this shouldn’t take very long. I haven’t timed mine but I’m pretty sure it didn’t take more than 10 minutes).

Step 10: Keep repeating until you have all the colours you could wish for! (Note: when cleaning off the bowl, remember to use warm water to get the mixture off! If you use cold water, the mixture will set and make the whole process super difficult. I like to use paper towels when cleaning, because the mixture does stain a bit!)

IMG_5742

Now, I decided that I couldn’t leave this post without showing you the colour payoff, so I decided to do a few swatches on my hand so you could really see how well these turned out! From left to right, the colours are Scarlet, a mixture of Indigo and a dark blue colour whose name I’ve forgotten and Violet-Red. The Violet Red one was the one I placed a whole crayon into, and you can see that It doesn’t apply as well on my hand as the other two. However, despite this all three look absolutely marvellous on my lips! Not too bad for some old lip Smackers and children’s art supplies 😛

IMG_5750

A few tips for wearing the lip balms: they do set pretty firm, so they need a few seconds to warm up before you apply them. I find that holding the lip balm on my lips for a few seconds before applying does the trick. Also, these suckers have heaps of colour in them and may bring attention to any dead skin that you might have on your lips! Using a lip scrub beforehand is highly recommended 🙂

So there you have it! That’s my recipe for long-lasting crayon lipsticks. Have you ever tried the crayon lipstick DIY? If you have, I’d love to hear about your experiences in the comments! I can’t be the only one that ended up with a big, goopy mess 😛 Also, if you’re planning on doing the DIY and have any queries, feel free to leave them in the comments too! I’m 100% happy to be your troubleshooter 😛

Ok, that’s all from me!

I hope you all have an amazing weekend.

Lots of love

-Daisy 🙂

P.S. A massive thank you to the amazing Jaanethough for nominating me for the Versatile blogger award! It means so much to be considered for any award. She blogs about cruelty free beauty and is super lovely! You need to give her a follow 😛

Standard

9 thoughts on “Crayon Lipsticks That Actually Work?!

    • Hahaha thanks Sandy! I was blown away by the whole concept when I saw the original crayon/coconut oil lipstick tutorials on Pinterest too! It’s definitely a great way to add a few quirky colours to your lipstick collection 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I know right?! I’m kind of a little (OK, incredibly) obsessed with Pinterest DIYs, so that’s where I initially found out about the whole concept 😛 You should totally try it; they’re super fun to make! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

