Essays, feminism

Celebrities and Feminism

Hey everyone!

You all know that when I want to get pumped up for something (whether that be for a party, an exam or even a shift at work) there is one thing that I will do consistently no matter what the situation, and that is dance. Something feels so liberating about dancing to your favourite songs when no one is looking! However, one song that always makes me feel ready to take on the world whether I’m dancing or not is ***Flawless by Beyonce. When that song is blasting through my earphones I feel so strong and empowered, like nothing can stop me as I take on the day ahead. It’s actually become such a staple in my morning playlists that I’ve memorised all of the lyrics, not stopping for a second when Nigerian writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s words begin flowing over the beat:

Feminist: a person who believes in the social, political and economic equality of the sexes.

What’s remarkable about Beyonce’s song is the fact that it defines a term for the greater public that so many women, especially those with a public image, used to shy away from. It was only a few years ago that Taylor Swift was scared of the label ‘feminist’, mistakenly saying that she didn’t see things as ‘guys versus girls’. Katy Perry was another celebrity that was scared of the term, saying that she wasn’t a feminist, but did believe in strong women. It is almost impossible to believe that a few years ago Queen Bey herself rejected the term as being ‘quite extreme’. However, in these recent times, something of a revolution is occurring. I’m not sure exactly what caused this sudden embrace of feminism by celebrities, however I do know that this wave of acceptance is indicative of something of a cultural shift. As increasing amounts of people (celebrities or not) come forward in support of feminism, more people are realising that it isn’t something that should be feared or avoided. The word ‘feminist’ isn’t scary anymore, simply because more and more people are saying it, and when a celebrity speaks out their voice has the ability to be heard by millions.

With each celebrity that is coming forward as a feminist, more awareness is being raised about the term and what it stands for. Beyonce’s song, part of an album which has been sold over 5 million times worldwide, has shattered the false ideas associated with the word ‘feminist’ just through the inclusion of a quote. When Taylor Swift confirmed herself to be a feminist it was a major new story, and she has continued to promote awareness in her recent interview with Maxim. Last year, when Emma Watson made her He for She speech at the UN, many people were made aware that feminism is something that men should be involved with just as much as women, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s outspoken feminism serving as an amazing example. These celebrities are creating a new image for feminism: one of acceptance, co-operation and harmony among the sexes, almost erasing the misconceptions that were so dominant beforehand.

However, despite this spectacular progress we still have a long way to go! Despite the fact that more awareness is being raised, there are still a number of female celebrities who haven’t accepted the term through lack of understanding. The most notable example I can think of is Shailene Woodley, who said famously last year that she believes in a sisterhood more than feminism. However, I think that for celebrities like Shailene it’s only a matter of time! With the amount of progress that has been made with feminism and its acceptance in modern society, sooner or later it won’t be such a ‘taboo’ topic to support. Until then, I will hold on to hope that Shailene and other celebrities like her watch this video, because whether they like it or not they are feminists, it’s just they don’t know it yet!

Thank you for reading

Lots of love

-Daisy 🙂

Image credit here

Standard

8 thoughts on “Celebrities and Feminism

  1. I agree, and I think we’re going to see major strides in the next few years. Thanks for publishing this.
    Feminism, to me, is the ideal that a female is able to be herself and live the life she wishes — whether that be a CEO or a stay-at-home mom — without the hindrance of historical societal constructs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I couldn’t agree with you more; women should be allowed to do whatever the heck they want and not be judged for it! I think if more people understood the definition of the word ‘feminist’ they would realise what a marvellous thing it really is 🙂 Thank you for the lovely comment!

      Like

  2. agirlwithpinkcheeks says:

    It’s nice to see that things are (slowly) evolving but there is still a long road ahead!! It’s true that a lot of people do not understand feminism and label feminists as extremists. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I definitely agree that there is a long way to go, but the fact that so many celebrities are embracing the term is definitely a good sign! Hopefully in a few years the word will have lost all of its ‘scariness’ 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have been going through your posts and I find your style of writing very refreshing. I can see why you have a steady stream of followers for such a new blog. Please keep it up.. I am new to the blog sphere and it’s nice to read a blog I can relate too. 🙂 As a feminist myself I am so happy that more celebrities are coming out and standing for feminism. Unfortunately many people think saying “I’m a feminist” is just like saying “Im a man hater” and that’s simply not true. Feminism is about wanting equal rights for everyone. Women having the same economic, political and social equality as men. I always say sexism is just like color blind racism. It’s the same mentality that fuels both of them. A mentality of superiority. We need more feminists like you!! GREAT POST!

    Zainab 🙂
    https://theliberalfeminist.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, this is such an amazing comment! I had the biggest smile on my face when I was reading this, you have no idea! Thank you so, so much for your kind words about my blog. I’m so happy that you’re able to relate to what I write about, that means a tonne! Plus, I love your content so much (your post about Mad Max was AWESOME!), so it means even more! It’s so great being able to meet lovely people like you through blogging 🙂 As for celebrities and feminism, I agree with you wholeheartedly. It is so awesome that so many celebrities are coming out in support of feminism, as it sets an amazing example for the people who don’t exactly have the right idea of what it’s all about 😛 And the parallel to racism is a really good one. There should be equality for all, regardless of your skin colour, gender or sexuality!
      Thank you once again!
      -Daisy 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

