Dancing, Music, Positivity, Pugs

Reasons to be Happy!

Hello everyone!

How’s it going? Did you have a good mother’s day? I surely did 🙂

Now, when I sat down at my computer today to write a new blog post an overwhelming sense of confusion came over me. Weirdly enough, for the first time in my approximate one month of blogging I found myself wondering what I should write about! I never thought that it would happen to me when I first started out; I was brimming with so many ideas! But I guess it happens to all of us at some point, so I’m not going to get too down about it. I just need to keep writing down ideas and soldier on with it!

So anyways, in my uninspired state of disarray, I decided that I would browse some of the blogs that I’m following to see what everybody’s up to, and that’s when I stumbled across this post. An Overthinking Teenager has decided to venture out and start a new hashtag for her brilliant Reasons to be Happy Project! When I read what it was about, I knew that I just had to get involved. If you know me, you know that I’m all about spreading a little positivity whenever I can 🙂 So I decided that, for today’s blog post, I would write up a list of ten things that make me happy right now. Thank you, An Overthinking Teenager, for the last-minute inspiration!

10 Things That Make Me Happy

  1. Multicoloured, Musical Baths

If you haven’t tried this, I highly recommend that you do! All you need is a bath bomb, a bath and a playlist of some of your favourite feel-good songs. Basically, you just fill up the bath, get in, add the bath bomb and jam out to your favourite music. I did this recently with the space girl bath bomb from Lush (it smells delicious and creates the most gorgeous, glittery purple bath that you could ever imagine!) and sang along to a playlist including some of my favourite songs at the moment (at the top of the list was ‘Doing It’ by Charli XCX and Rita Ora. I just can’t get enough of that song!). Let your hair down, use your bath brush as a microphone and just have fun 🙂

  1. The Moment Something I Ordered Online Arrives

I think we’ve all been there: nervously waiting at the laptop wondering where the heck the thing we ordered three weeks ago is at. I know that every time I order something online, it can never come to the door fast enough! Every morning I’m waiting for the postman to come just to see whether or not he has my internet-sourced attire with him. So, when it finally arrives, I’m practically ecstatic! I’ll immediately want to try everything on, make new outfits and plan out when I’m going to wear it next. The moment is just so brilliant it’s almost definitely worth the wait! (That being said, faster shipping is always a positive :P)

  1. Singing at the Top of my Lungs

I have always loved singing. Whenever I do it, I just feel so happy! So sometimes, whenever I’m feeling a little down in the dumps, I’ll turn on one of the loudest, most powerful songs that I have and just sing. It always makes me feel 10x better. My favourites at the moment are ‘Let It Go’ from the Frozen soundtrack (a movie that I haven’t even seen! Hahaha) and ‘Rolling in the Deep’ by Adele (because how can you not feel awesome belting out that chorus?).

  1. Watching Old Elvis Movies

This is a bit of a strange one, but hear me out! At the moment my mum and I are basically going through a massive Elvis phase where we’re watching all of his movies. Some of them are really cute and fun (the chemistry he had with Ann Margaret in Viva Las Vegas was fantastic to watch), others not so much (what the heck is up with Harum Scarum?!). However, if there is one thing that we’re both sure of it’s that the music is always going to be great. I just can’t help but smile whenever I watch Elvis perform 😛

  1. Spending Time With My Friends and Family

This one is pretty self explanatory, but it’s so important. Spending time with my friends and family can make me feel better in an instant, even if I’m having a super crappy day! Being around the people I love is just one of the best things I can do in general, so it always helps when I’m not feeling my best.

  1. Dancing Like a Fool

I did a post where I go into this more, but dancing actually lifts my mood from 0 to 100 in a flash! It just makes me feel so happy, even though there is a 100% chance that I look like a complete dork 😛

  1. Getting My Liquid Eyeliner Perfect on the First Try

I wear liquid eyeliner almost every day, but this is still a major achievement for me! When I notice that the wings match up perfectly on both sides, the Rocky theme song might as well be playing behind me as I triumphantly place the cap back onto the pen. Liquid eyeliner is a tricky thing to master, so whenever I end up doing it right I feel on top of the world. It really sets the tone for an amazing day!

  1. This Video of a Cat Trying to Jump into a Box

Seriously, how could Maru not make you smile?

  1. Looking Back on an Embarrassing Moment and Laughing

This is probably one of the best feelings. So many embarrassing things happen to me, and at the time they can feel like the end of the world! However, as time passes I realise that, really, that moment that was so embarrassing a few days, months or years ago wasn’t really that bad after all. OK, maybe it WAS that bad, but still; I was able to get over it and continue on with my life unfazed. Plus, embarrassing moments always make for the funniest stories!

  1. Eating Chocolate

Because it has been proven to release endorphins, which make you happy! Also, it’s really, really delicious 😛

So there you go, ten of my favourite happy things! What are some of yours? Do tell me in the comments!

Also, highly recommend you check out An Overthinking Teenager’s Blog and participate in her Reasons to be Happy Project. I think it’s a really neat idea and it needs more contributors! 🙂

Anyways, I hope you’re all having a lovely day!

Lots of love

-Daisy 🙂

P.S. I started using Pinterest a few years ago but kept all of my pins private because… the internet was a scary place to me back then! Well, recently I started going back on there and created a few new boards, not knowing that I’d accidentally made them public. Fast forward to today, and I’ve discovered that people have actually been following and liking my pins! I was flabbergasted to say the least. So today I decided ‘what the heck, let’s give this Pinterest thing a go!’. So, you can follow me on Pinterest right over here: https://www.pinterest.com/Ladybugsandpugs/. Do any of you guys have Pinterest? If you do, tell me in the comments! I would love to follow you back XD (also, does anyone know how to attach your social media to the side of your blog? I’ve gone a bit widget-crazy at the moment and don’t really plan on stopping :P)

P.P.S. You know what else makes me happy? Cute pictures of pugs! Here’s my pick for today XD

Standard

6 thoughts on “Reasons to be Happy!

Leave a Reply

