Dancing, Music, Positivity, Pugs

Dance It Out

http://static.idolator.com/uploads/2014/08/18/taylor-swift4.jpg

I’m a strong believer in the power of music. Whenever I hear a song that I love, my mood gets lifted instantaneously. So, for the past few years I’ve had sort of a morning ritual. Whenever I get ready I put on the loudest, happiest music I can find, and I dance. Not only does it energise me, but it also puts me in a fantastic mood for the rest of the day! I highly recommend you try it. Next time you’re getting ready to go out somewhere, put on some funky music and bust some moves, no matter how dorky they may be. You might feel a little silly at first, but once you embrace it you’ll feel 10,000 times more amazing, I promise! If you’re stuck for some feel-good tunes, here are a few of my favourites:

Tell Her – Rizzle Kicks

Rizzle Kicks have always been a favourite of mine. Their lyrics are always really clever and at times positively hilarious, but this song is the one that always has me dancing. ‘When I Was A Youngster’ is another great one to get your feet moving 🙂

Be Impressive – The Griswolds

I saw the Griswolds live at the beginning of the year when they were supporting the Kooks on their Australian tour. I didn’t really know much about them before the show, but after I’d heard their music I was completely hooked! This is one of my favourite songs; if I listen to it in the morning I end up singing it for the rest of the day! (Just a quick heads up: this song does have a few sweary words. You’ve been warned)

Feel Right – Mark Ronson

It seems like you can’t go anywhere at the moment without hearing Uptown Funk, but my favourite song off Mark Ronson’s ‘Uptown Special’ at the moment is this gem. It reminds me so much of James Brown’s music. Ronson’s definitely captured that old-school funk vibe with this one. (I’ve put a link to the clean version, but the album version does have some swearing)

Come And Get Your Love – Redbone

It’s no secret how much I love the movie Guardians of the Galaxy. Everything about it is just so perfect! So naturally, I had to include the soundtrack to this amazing opening number on my list. Dancing like Peter Quill is definitely recommended 😛

Around Town – The Kooks

This was the first song they played in their set when I saw then live, and it was amazing! Everyone was singing along, and Luke Pritchard was seriously jamming out on his tambourine. The best part was when everyone was clapping their hands along to the chorus. It felt so awesome to be part of a crowd like that. So, whenever I hear this song it always brings back those awesome memories. Plus, it’s catchy as all heck!

Shake It Off – Taylor Swift

Of course, I had to end this list with the queen of awkward dancing herself. Words cannot describe how much I love Taylor Swift. From her love of cats to her impeccable fashion sense, she’s just the kind of person that I would love to be friends with, and this video more than confirms that for me! I can’t hear this song without feeling a million times better than what I did before. Plus, it’s kind of a celebration of wacky dancing, which I really love 🙂

I could go on for pages and pages, but I think I should leave it there. What are some of your favourite happy songs? Tell me in the comments!

I hope you’re having an awesome day

Until next time

-Daisy 🙂

P.S. I feel like this blog doesn’t have enough pugs. Here’s a pug.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/47/Gadget_the_pug_expressive_eyes.jpg

Standard

8 thoughts on “Dance It Out

  1. Pingback: Reasons to be Happy! | Ladybugs & Pugs

  2. Pingback: My Favourite ‘Girl Power’ Anthems | Ladybugs & Pugs

Leave a Reply

